Is that a Super Scarf around Santa’s Neck???

Goodnight and I are in the middle of our Christmas Movie Marathon.  I love it.  Each movie brings back its own good memories – old and new.

Case in point: the delightful recent memory that came to mind while watching Mrs. Santa Claus starring Angela Lansbury and Charles Durning, a made for TV movie from 1996.  It was GN’s turn to pick the Christmas movie for marathon viewing and it was her choice for this morning.

Funny . . . I never noticed before, but near the very end of the movie, when Mrs. Santa Claus returns from some time away from the North Pole, she wraps a beautiful scarf around her husband’s neck before he is to take off on his journey around the world.

But wait! . . . . Oh no!!  Could it be?  Does she wrap him up in a 2012 Indianapolis Super Bowl Super Scarf???   :-D

 

Not really.  The movie came out long before Indianapolis was even selected as the venue for the big football game in February of 2012, but I have had such a wonderful time with all the blue and white Super Scarf knitting I’ve done over the last year and a half that those blue and white knit stripes stuck out like a blinking billboard when she wrapped the scarf around Santa’s neck!  I think it has the approved shade of blue, too!!

Super Bowl 2012 is only 40 days away and the event schedule is online at: http://www.indianapolissuperbowl.com/event-calendar/ . 

In case you haven’t heard, this will be the first time that the NFL will allow fans to attend a Super Bowl Media Day.  Fans will also get to see the participating teams take their teams photos in their game day uniforms.  Fun!!!  Find more information at:  http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d5d822d4b35/article/fans-get-opportunity-to-go-behindthescenes-for-super-bowl-prep

I can’t say that Santa Claus will be there, but I know there will be over 12,295 blue and white Super Scarves wrapped around the necks of volunteers and hospitality employees who’ve participated in the Super Service initiative.  http://www.indianapolissuperbowl.com/super-service/.

Before I get back to my Christmas Movie Marathon, did you know that Charles Durning has appeared as Santa Claus five times, to date, in films or made-for-television movies?  I only have two of them so guess what I’ll be keeping my eyes open for at thrift shops in the upcoming months?  Yup!  Santa Claus!

Fa la la la lah!

3 Comments »

  1. 1

    Carol: Doesn’t it? It just made me ‘smile out loud!!!” Happy, Happy Scarf!
    Dunno about the events, but I have a plan I’m about to hatch . . . ;-)

  2. 2
    Travis Says:

    That’s an awful lot of scarves! Well done to all the knitters!

  3. 3
    Carol E. Says:

    Too funny — a Super Scarf on Santa!!


RSS Feed for this entry

Hello! Thank you for visiting my blog. Please feel free to leave a comment. Have a nice day!

