Advent Candles Illusion Knit Table Runner

I know it’s St. Patrick’s Day but I just finished knitting an Advent runner for my table and I promised to post the pattern when it was completed.  Besides, because of the design, I will leave it on my table for the remainder of Lent now, too.

Here’s the techno-deal for the day . . . the light was perfect, I set the table with winter greens and everything, took the photos and then my camera died.  I don’t mean died as in the battery needs charging.  I mean died as in there is no way I’m going to get those photos from that camera.  So I asked Goodnight if I could borrow her iPod to use the built-in camera.  She was kind enough to agree.  (Thank you, Honey.) By the time I realized my problem and re-set the table for Advent, the light had changed.  I admit that I rushed the second photo shoot because we were on our way out the door for green bagels!    ;-)  Oh well, you’ll get the idea.

The photo below shows the four purple candles with their respective yellow flames.  The image is repeated at the opposite end of the runner.  I left the center section a plain white to accommodate the Advent centerpiece of candles and greenery.

The photo below shows the table runner from a different angle.  As one moves about an Illusion/Shadow knit piece, the images come in and out of view.  I love it!

The following photo is an overhead shot of part of the runner: just stripes.

Like I said, I’m leaving the runner on my table for Lent.  I deep-sixed the winter greens and swapped them out for a vase of brown twigs.  Two-season table runner!

If you’d like to knit my Advent Candles Illusion Knit Table Runner, feel free to click the link to download the pdf.

Happy knitting!

6 Comments »

  1. Your reference to “four candles” reminds me of a famous comedy sketch by The Two Ronnies in the UK many years ago.

    The illusion runner is great – you’re inventive AND industrious!

  2. 2

    DOABG: I’m leaving the video link up for a while. It’s hilarious. I love it! Thanks for sharing it.

  3. 3
    Norma Says:

    It is beautiful!

  4. 4

    Norma: Thank you so much.

  5. 5
    Karen Says:

    Thank you for sharing the Advent runner! It will definitely be the next project on my needles! Looking forward to having a lovely table this Christmas season.

  6. 6

    Karen: So glad you like it. I like to dress my table, too. Hope it goes well for you.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

