Cabled Braided Necklace

While web-surfing last week, I came across a lovely knitting pattern that I wanted to try.  It’s for a Cabled Braided Necklace.  Click on the link to see a photo of the necklace and to find the directions.  It’s a clever use of cable-knitting with strategically placed yarnovers to make the rest of the piece work.  There are even two foreign-language translations provided for the directions:  French and Italian.  Great photos as well.  The post is from December of 2010, but at that time, I was head-over-heels into the Super Scarf Project for the 2012 Indianapolis Super Bowl.

I’ve knit the piece twice already.  I reduced the number of repeats, and made bracelets that wrap once around my wrist, rather than the three shown in one of the photos.

For my first bracelet, I used a natural wool as shown in the photos on the link.  When I finished the knitting, I sewed beads in the indentations where the cabled braids intersect.  It’s a fun look.

The bracelet is made by making two separate cabled strips and working them together by weaving the pieces through the holes made by the yarnovers.

The second time I knit a bracelet, I knit the strips in two different colors and got the following Christmas bracelet.  (You know me.  I love Christmas!)  I snapped a quick pic before I dashed off to work this morning.

 

I should really have done it more justice by photographing it with a cup of hot chocolate, pine boughs, snow, or something like that.  But you get the point.  By using two different colors, you can show your team spirit, holiday spirit, or highlight complimentary colors in your clothing.

I’d like to thank Olgajazzy for posting the free pattern.

Happy Knitting

2 Comments »

  1. 1
    Cathy Says:

    Thank you for this GG – it looks like the perfect answer to a small problem I’ve had recently.
    Great as ‘liitle’ gifts – not stocking stuffers but in that vein, small, compact and light enough to post overseas nearer to Christmas. I like the idea of a necklace as well as the bracelets you have made so might try both versions – may even do the 2 colour way as well!
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. 2

    Cathy: You’re welcome. I like tha olgajazzy’s pattern a lot. It’s simple, clever, and fun. Like you, I like to make some gifts – such as this – for GN to give away to her friends of teachers, as she decides. We’ve come up with a few ideas that seem to be a hit and I’m sure this will be one as well. GN wants them in school colors.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

