Hands-Free XLVI Neck Wrap

In my previous post, I showed a pic of what I came up with to wear to Indianapolis Super Bowl XLVI events.  The pic is a little deceiving, however, though not intentionally.  What I have around my neck isn’t exactly a scarf.  It can double as one when it is unwrapped, but that isn’t how I want to wear it.

I know that long winter scarves can be wrapped any number of ways, tucked here and there to make the ends stay in place, but mine all seem to eventually get blown in the wind or unwrapped to have loose ends.  I didn’t want loose ends in Indy.  I want to be warm outdoors, but keep my hands free for taking photos of Super Scarves and doing other things in Super Bowl Village that don’t involve holding onto a scarf end.

So . . . when wrapped properly, my hands-free neck wrap looks like this:

When unwrapped, it can still be a scarf, though a bit shorter than usual.

It’s not a tough piece to make.  It’s just 2 x 2 ribbing.  But, I wanted to have some fun with the pattern, so in honor of Super Bowl XLVI, I wrote my pattern, directions, dimensions etc.,  using Roman Numerals!   Don’t worry.  I added a link to a Roman Numeral Chart in case you’re a little rusty.  I called it XLVI Neck Wrap because that’s how many stitches I used.

If you would like to knit my Hands Free XLVI Neck WrapHands Free XLVI Neck Wrap, feel free to click the link.

Happy knitting!

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    Marcia Gaffney Says:

    Looks like the answer to how to keep your neck warm, keep it in place at the same time, or let the ends hang free. Thanks so much.

  2. 2

    Marcia: You’re welcome.

  3. 3
    Judy Says:

    What a unique, clever scarf! Thank you for making this available to everyone.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

