Lipstick Caddy

The cap had jiggled off.  The tube inside had twisted upward and my medium pink lip color had smeared over everything!  I guess the answer to the HUGE mess I had at the bottom of my purse would have been  to decide never to wear lipstick again, but . . . that isn’t the option I went with.

I decided to knit a lipstick caddy instead.  It’s big enough to hold just one tube, but at least the cover can’t jiggle off anymore!

Three things influenced me as I designed this little case.  1) I have a collection of Anchor Hocking Blue Moonstone table wear – and the dressing table powder box in the photo, too – so I like the hobnail look.  2) I like vintage textiles in darker colors. 3) I found a set of craft mirrors at a thrift shop for a song!  If I had purchased them at a craft store, I might have had to dance, too.

I used the Trinity Stitch for this piece.  It is also referred to as the Astrakhan Stitch.  It can be what some knitters would call fussy work, especially the P3 Tog.  I understand why.  It can throw off the thythm of knitting, but I like the outcome, so I think it’s worth the patience.

Lipstick Caddy

Dimensions

Width:  3 ½”

Height:  2 ½’

Materials

#3 (US) straight needles

worsted weight cotton yarn in color of choice

blunt end yarn needle

5/8″ diameter snap

thread in color to match yarn

small mirror with self-adhesive backing

Abbreviations

BO: bind off

CO: cast on

K: knit

P: purl

Tog: together

Directions

CO 20 stitches

Row 1 – Wrong Side:  (K1, P1, K1 in one stitch), P3 Tog

Row 2:  P

Row 3:  P3 Tog, (K1, P1, K1 in one stitch)

Row 4:  P

Repeat rows 1-4 until the piece measures 6 inches.

Bind off in P on either the 2nd or 4th row whenever peice measures 6 inches.

Finishing

The finished knit piece can be evenly divided as follows –  two inches for the front of the caddy, two inches for the back of the caddy and two inches for the fold-over flap. 

Fold the piece accordingly and sew the two side seams.

Weave in yarn ends.

Attach snap pieces – one to the inside of cover and one to the front of the caddy.

Remove back from self-adhesive mirror and attach to the inside of the cover, just under the snap – centered on the fold-over flap.

Goodnight saw mine and wants one for herself.  “Not black, though.  Okay, Gram?”  ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

