“Big Rigs” – Winter Scarf

I just finished knitting a winter scarf.  It’s not a Super Scarf, but it’s still destined for Indiana.  Just to get it out of my system, let’s get to the photo of the “Big Rigs Winter Scarf” and then we can chat about the reason for the design.

Yes . . . I knit two 18-wheelers back to back and if you’re interested in that sort of thing, they both have vertical bull horn exhaust stacks behind the cab.  ;-)  It’s a little tough to see in the photo below because of the carpet color, but the exhaust stack behind the cab is not straight, it bends toward the back.  The other cab has the same thing.  I knit the stacks in an I-cord and then ran pipe cleaners through each I-cord to hold the bull horn bends.

I was recently contacted by an event coordinator for a fundraiser happening in Indiana on April 30, 2011.  The event is called “Night Moves Celebrity Dinner/Fundraiser” and it’s a dinner with celebrity waiters.  The event is a fundraiser for another event that will be held in conjunction with the Indianapolis Super Bowl: Z-Bowl 2012.  The Night Moves Celebrity Dinner/Fundraiser includes a Silent Auction, which is where I came into the picture.  The person who contacted me wondered if I would knit a scarf to donate.  I was even given a link to their promotional video to get more information about the event.

I watched the video and immediately got my fun 18-wheeler idea for a scarf design.  I contacted my Indy brother with the information, told him to watch the video and see if he could guess the idea I came up with for a scarf.

He replied that he didn’t even have to watch the video to know what would make a great scarf.  He even sent an image rendering of his idea.  It was exactly what I had come up with, too.

‘Night Moves Celebrity Dinner” gets its name from the 1984 move of the Colts from Baltimore to Indianapolis.  Twelve moving trucks drove into the Colts’ compound, packed them up and moved them in the middle of the night, in March 1984.

The obvious images that came out of this story were the moving vans themselves.  They were Mayflower trucks.  Mayflower was established in Indianapolis by Conrad Gentry, a grocer, and his truck salesman friend, Donald Kenworthy.  Mayflower trucks have had several designs over the years,  but I chose one of the color schemes as suggested by the following:

 Moving vans usually project a sense of success-a new home or a new job. And the movers always arrive early in the morning. But these movers resembled kidnappers or burglars using darkness to avoid detection. The yellow Mayflower vans had been gathered yesterday afternoon from as far north as New Jersey and as far south as Virginia, along with a busload of 45 movers and a truckload of packing material. The vans arrived at the Colts’ complex about 10 that evening. Shortly before dawn today, the vans had been loaded and were on their way to Indianapolis.

New York Times, March 29, 1984                  

I knit the Big Rigs from one end of their trailers to the other, then added the tractor units, wheels, and exhaust stacks separately.  Instead of knitting the Mayflower logo onto the trucks, I knitted the ‘Night Moves’ logo for the fundraiser.

 

I knitted the scarf using the garter stitch for everything except the logos on the trailers.  It’s a reversible stitch and so the scarf looks good from the back side, too.  I wouldn’t call the scarf reversible because I only attached wheels, logos, and exhaust stacks on one side.  Reducing the bulk kept the scarf useable.  It’s a scarf, after all. 

If you want to read the full article from which I took the portion about the Mayflower vans, click on the link to the New York Times article.

If you would like to see the promotional video for the Night Moves Celebrity Dinner/Fundraiser,  click on the link to their You Tube videoIt looks like a fun event.

If you would like to learn more about Z-Bowl 2012, the reason behind the fundraising event, click on the link to read about the grassroots effort.

If you are interested in seeing images of Mayflower trucks, from which I selected my color scheme, Google images and then type “Mayflower trucks.”

To Kathy, the event coordinator who contacted me about donating a scarf:  You told me to surprise you.  I hope you are surprised.  :-)

And for my Indy brother, I’d just like to sing:  “Ohhhhhhhhhh, there’s 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 wheels on a big rig!”

Happy knitting! 

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    Philip Says:

    What a wonderful inventive scarf. I trust it raised a good sum of money.

    It is Good Friday as I write this. All the best to you on this
    Easter season weekend.

  2. 2

    Philip: As of today, Good Friday, the event has not happened, so I have no sum of money to tell you. But all the best to you this Easter, too.

  3. 3
    Meghan Says:

    What a creative scarf!! I am sure it did great at the auction! You are so creative Goodnight Gram!

  4. 4

    Hi Meghan,

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. It was fun to knit the trucks!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

