Coffee Break Wristers

When I get cold . . . . I’m open to almost anything to keep me warm . . . particularly if it involves knitting.  One thing that I like to wear is wristers.  It’s amazing how much warmth a knit wrist band can add.

It occurred to me that my wristers could be a tad more frivolous (and useful) than those I’ve already knit.  So, yesterday I decided to give it a try.

I knit wristers with pockets in them!  The wristers look like cuffs on a very warm sweater and the pockets are just the right size for tucking some coffee money inside . . . or the little hand warmers that I use frequently at work.

I call them my Coffee Break Wristers©. . . just a simple 2×2 rib with and inset pocket.  I like the ribbing because it draws the wrister close to the wrist.  The money sticks out of the pocket only for the photo.  The pockets are deep enough to tuck the money all the way inside.  They are amazingly warm!  There is a button closure, but it’s hidden behind the paper bill in the photo.

 

That’s about it for my thrilling weekend.  It was pretty cold outside: double digits below zero F.  I spent much of the weekend here, under the blanket with my nose in the book.  Officer Friendly won that blanket at a church festival raffle we went to the first year we were married – so I cuddled up in fond memories while I read.

To make the Coffee Break Wristers©:

(Make two)

Worsted weight yarn

#5 (US) double-pointed needles. 

CO 40 stitches.

K2, P2 for 18 rounds.

On next round, BO 14 stitches for insert pocket, continue in established ribbing to end of round.

On next round, CO 14stitches in ribbing pattern, contiue in established ribbing to end of round.

K2, P2, for five more round. 

BO in ribbing.

Turn wrister inside-out.

At the edge where you CO, pick up 14 stitches and follow ribbing pattern for 16 rows.

BO in ribbing.

Cut yarn.

Sew pocket to inside of wrister.

Weave in all ends.

If you don’t know how to do inset pockets, then just CO 40, and then K2, P2 ribbing for 25 rounds, BO in ribbing.  Then make a patch pocket in the ribbing and then sew it on, matching the ribs.

Tuck some cash in the pocket and take yourself out for coffee!

Happy Knitting!

8 Comments »

  1. 1
    Kitsune Says:

    You must live in the same general region as I do, it’s been just as cold here.

  2. 2
    Travis Says:

    I like those wristers. I tend to wear long sleeved shirts, but I roll up the sleeves. I work on a computer all day, so sleeves tend to drag in desk dust if I don’t get them above my elbows.

    But there are times when my forearms and wrists to take a chill.

  3. 3

    Yes. I think we are. I’m in MN.

  4. 4
    Kitsune Says:

    I’m in northern IL. Winter is not my favorite time of year, at all. It’s pretty, sure, but I hate the cold.

  5. 5
    Clothhead Says:

    Brilliant idea. I live in London and when travelling to and from work I am frequently in and out of my large hobo bag retrieving and replacing my travel card. This seems like a safe way to carry my card; if I turn the pocket the other way so it’s facing the top of my arm. When you’re in the rush hour melange it’s just so easy to lose things. It’s also given me the idea of maybe adding a pocket to the top of my mitten and that way I won’t have to push my sleeve up in cold weather.

  6. 6

    Clothhead: My sis and I had the discussion about turning the pocket so if faces up the arm. I throw my wristers on either way, because I took the buttons off and used several snaps. The snaps are invisible, flatter than the buttons and I got sturdy ones so I’m not worried about losing anything. I take the bus to work, sometimes, too, so that’s where I put my transfer. Glad you found a use for the pocket wristers. Thanks for stopping by to leave a comment for me. Happy knitting!

  7. 7
    Susie Says:

    Greetings! Well I really want to attempt this, but I have only knitted scarves and dishcloths and have never used double-pointed needles. What is a round? I assume the ribbing pattern is K2, P2. Why are double-pointed needles used? I loved your Pi Party Pattern. My thanks!
    – Susie

  8. 8

    Dear Susie: Greetings to you, too!

    You asked “What is a round?” A round is the circular equivalent to working a row on single pointed needles, working all the stitches from first – round the circle – to the last, which is actually adjacent to the first stitch after the cast-on and join.

    I used double pointed needles for my pattern because I like using DPs on small round knitting, rather than a small circular needle. DPs (or a circular needle, which also has two points) are used when one wants round knit objects without a seam. Double-pointed needles (or the circular needle) are necessary because one needs the points at both ends. We knit the stitches from one needle onto the next but never turn the needles to go back – as in working rows. We continue round in a circle and when we get back to any given needle, the stiches are knit off the other end of the needle. That’s why we need two points on each needle. I’ve included a link that has a graphic of knitting with double pointed needles. http://www.laylock.org/resources/circular-knitting/ Don’t let the number of needles intimidate you. We still only knit with two needles and use the others for holding stitches.

    You are correct about the ribbing pattern for the wristers. I used K2, P2.

    I’m glad you liked the Pi Party Pattern. Thank you for telling me. You’re very welcome.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

