“What Magic Comes from Books!!!” – Super Scarf #15

Time for another Super Bowl 2012 Super Scarf. 

I wanted to do something a little different (different doesn’t mean difficult) in order to honor the 22 branches of the Indianapolis Marion County Public Library (IMPCL) which got on board early in the Super Scarf Project to serve as collection points for completed scarves and to provide knit kits for volunteers interested in knitting scarves.  I can only imagine how many scarves will come directly from the participation of the libraries!

It got me to thinking about books, libraries, knitting, and Super Scarves and I think I devised a way to combine all that magic.  Let me know what you think.

In the above photo, it looks like we have a book with a book mark hanging out.  The title of the book is XLVI, because in 2012, Indianapolis will host the 46th Super Bowl.  Super Bowls are numbered in Roman numerals.

What you see is not really a book mark, however . . . . .

I decided that a Super Scarf needed to be the main character of my book and what looks like a bookmark is actually one of the sections of knit fringe that I intentionally left sticking out!

The scarf is simply done in garter stitch, but rather than attach a stranded fringe, I decided to knit mini-scarves to represent the scarves that came/will come from the IMPCL and their efforts to get people knitting.  I knit each mini-scarf in garter stitch and when I had five completed, I combined them on a needle and worked the full scarf in garter stitch until I arrived at the opposite end of the scarf where I knit five more mini-scarves.

The book cover is knit separately using the seed stitch.  The closure strap is seed stitch as well.  I made the button.  It isn’t quite a Dorset button, but I started out using that method.  I used a very small ring and the thick yarn made for a rounded button.  I added the white in the center of the rounded button using a French knot.

I got into the IMPCL’s online catalog and hunted for some knit lit.  I don’t mean the pattern books, I mean literature.  There are TONS of stories that mention knitting, LOTS of stories that use a knitted garment in the plot, and SEVERAL stories that actually have knit scarves as a main (inanimate) character in a story.

Jeremy’s Muffler by Laura F. Nielson

The Long Red Scarf by Nette Hilton

The Scarves by Daniela Bunge

Grandpa Bear’s Fantastic Scarf by Gillian Heal

Milly, Molly and the Secret Scarves by  Gill Pittar

Time’s Up by Annie Bryant

Those are all children’s books, but they’re sweet stories nonetheless. 

There is magic in books, magic in reading, magic in knitting, and magic that came from the efforts of the Indianapolis Marion County Public Libraries.

Read a book.  Knit a Super Scarf.  Or do both!!!!

Happy knitting.

 

10 Comments »

  1. 1
    Carol Says:

    Somehow I managed to miss commenting on your last scarf, so this is a two-fer.

    I was wondering… are you allowed to send a little written account of your reasoning for your designs along with your scarves? I think your scarves are not only well-done, but also very creative, and it would be fun for the people who receive them to know your thoughts behind their designs.

    But then again, it’s also fun to allow people to wonder… :-)

  2. 2

    Carol: Yes, actually, we are allowed. There are comment cards available for downloading and printing on the Super Scarf website. I write my explanations on the comment cards so the volunteers who receive my scarves will understand what I’ve done.

  3. 3
    Carol Says:

    Those volunteers are going to have fun wearing your scarves!

  4. 4
    Travis Says:

    Very clever!

  5. 5

    Carol: I hope so. Before I send them off, I always wrap them around my neck just

      to make sure it’s something I would enjoy.
  6. 6
    Carol Says:

    Hey G.G.,

    Pop over to my place when you have a moment and see what I did!

  7. 7
    Maya R Says:

    Great scarf!

    I read a series of mysteries that took place in a yarn shop in Excelsior MN. I can’t remember the series but I really liked the books (from the library of course!). And as I recall there was a knitting pattern at the end of each book.

  8. 8

    Maya: I think I know the series you’re talking about. I love to read a novel and then find a pattern in the book. Reading and knitting all in one book. Magic!

  9. 9
    Philip Says:

    You are just too clever! Your “book scarf”. is very interesting.
    In our library search for books with scarf references may I suggest you expand the category to “sashes). The Métis have as part of their traditional costume a sash worn around the waist but could be used as a scarf in the Winter weather. http://www.canadiandesignresource.ca/officialgallery/symbols/metis-sash/ I love these sashes. I would like to know how they are woven by hand without needles. They are so beautiful.
    There are several books with Sash in the title and a sash referenced in the text.

  10. 10

    Philip: Thanks for the reminder! I have a Peruvian sash made the same way. It’s a bit more narrow, but it was finger-woven.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

