Archive for November 5th, 2010

“Football Practice” – Super Scarf #13

November 5, 2010

For today’s Super Scarf, I wanted to use a different knitting technique.  I wanted to incorporate a combination a texture and openwork (Let’s not call it lace for a gender neutral scarf, okay?) and see if I could fashion some footballs in a scarf.

I liked the result, so I thought I would share it with you.

I tried to keep the scarf to one skein of Red Heart Super Saver because it makes for an economical scarf and since there are no dye, lots I didn’t have to worry about matching colors.

The combination of textured stitches gives the impression of a football silhouette and the openwork gives the hint of football lacing.

Twisted stitches connect one row of footballs to the next.  For this scarf, there are fifteen rows of three footballs, which means you get to knit them over and over.  Hence, “football practice.”

Hope you like it.  If you’d like to knit one, click the link for the pdf pattern.  Football Practice – Super Scarf

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers