Archive for October 5th, 2010

“Organ Recital”

October 5, 2010

So . . . . . . . “Shoot me now or make me unconscious” does indeed equal a 10.  In fact, it also equals a lot of attention!!  It also equals an immediate prescription for vicodin and an anti-nausea medication, a next-day referral to a urologist (just got done with that), a courier to transport the CT-Scan immediately, a stent insertion procedure within the next few days, and a percutaneous nephrolithotomy (the most invasive of the kidney stone removal procedures) before Halloween.  Instead of “Trick or Treat”, looks like Gram will be saying “Dilaudid or Morphine.”

Too bad they have to destroy kidney stones to remove them.  I’d have them set in a dinner ring or something.

You know why I titled this post “Organ Recital” don’t you?  It has nothing to do with music.  It’s what old people do when they get together.  They give updates on their health issues.

The urologist sent me home with a consolation prize, of sorts.  It’s a disk of my CT- Scan.  I don’t know if it will work on my DVD player, but I’m going to try it.  I just need to have it for my upcoming ‘events.’  Remember when they used to send the big envelopes with films?  Too bad they can’t Photoshop them out!

Poor Goodnight.  The first thing she asked me was “Gram, can people die from kidney stones?”  I gave her a hug, told her everything would be fine. 

Then she did her math homework and baked a cake.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers