Quilted One Patch Triangles Illusion Place Mat

One day, a few years ago, I decided I was sick of my everyday dishes.  The moment realized it, I was resolved not to use them another day.  I cleaned out the cupboard, wrapped them up in a layer of protective newspaper and donated them.  Had Officer Friendly observed this, he might have been concerned that he’d be wrapped up in protective newspaper and carted off without warning, too. (I wouldn’t have considered it, but my abruptness could have given him pause, I suppose.)

I came home with a different set of dinnerware . . . rather basic, but white was so much better to see food on than the color I had.  (No . . . I won’t tell you what color that was in case it’s your favorite color.)  We’ve been using them ever since – happily.

I recently posted a pattern for a one-patch triangles quilted-looking face cloth which was really my practice piece for the place mats I wanted to knit for my ‘not too new anymore’ dinnerware.

Here’s what I came up with.

And here’s the ninety degree view of the illusion pattern.

I’ve made two this week, one for Goodnight and one for me.  If you’re interested in trying the pattern, click the link for the PDF and change up the colorway to match your dishes: Quilted One Patch Triangles Illusion Place Mat.

Happy knitting!

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    Carol Says:

    Very pretty!

  2. 2
    Travis Says:

    I like those dishes. I’m not a fan of plain white, so I like that yours have a bit of color around the edges.

  3. 3
    PJ Says:

    I’ve been wanting to try illusion knitting…..great project. Thanks.

  4. 4

    PJ: You’re welcome. Have fun. I love Illusion. It’s so clever. Thanks for stopping by to leave a comment. Happy knitting!

  5. 5
    Tracy Beck Says:

    I am trying this Place Mat, but the beginning does not look like your photos. Should row 9 be a purl stitch ?

  6. 6

    Hi Tracy,
    You could very well be right. I make typos that I don’t always catch – but if there is an error, I know why it happened, too. Let me double check by reknitting the beginning of my own directions and I will also pull out my placemat and compare it to what I’ve got. I will get back to you asap. Thanks for calling the problem to my attention.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

