Pastor’s Winter Cap and Scarf

We’ve had the same pastor at the church Goodnight and I attend for eight years.  He was recently asked to accept a post at a different parish.  He accepted the transfer and this past Sunday was his last day at our church.

I decided to knit him a going away gift. 

When I was growing up, most pastors wore a biretta if they wore something on their heads.  I can’t remember the last time I saw a clergyman wearing a biretta, but I always thought it distinguished them from other gentlemen who were wearing hats.

Image source:  http://bethanytwins.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/biretta-1.jpg

It’s easy enough to spot your pastor when he’s out and about if he’s wearing his collar, but in the winter it’s more difficult to do without the biretta.  So . . . . I knit the pastor a winter hat and scarf.  It will keep him warm, but allow the members of his new parish to recognize him when it snows!

Goodnight and I gave him his gift on Sunday.  He wrapped the scarf around his neck and let out a great laugh!  He loved it!

If you want to knit one click the link for the PDF pattern: Pastors Winter Cap and Scarf

Happy knitting!

10 Comments »

  1. 1
    Carol Says:

    Your knitting creates so many smiles!

    I like how the hat and scarf have the same white middle as a pastor’s collar.

  2. 2

    Carol: Yup! That was the plan. I giggle myself when I see it. You could knit one for your interreligious gathering . . . . . ;-)

  3. 3
    Ruthi Says:

    My husband is an Anglican Priest who owns and wears a biretta on occasions, like our wedding. I love the scarf and hat. Thanks for sharing the pattern.

  4. 4

    Hello Ruthi! Thanks for visiting my blog. And thanks for sharing about your husband. I always liked the birettas, but as a Roman Catholic, I haven’t seen one in a very long time. You’re welcome for the pattern.

  5. 5
    Heidi Rosin Says:

    Just found this!!! What great timing. My youngest brother just graduated from Wartburg Seminary and has received and accepted a call to a rural congregation in Minnesota. His ordination is later this month, and I think I will have time to whip this out for his gift!!!!!! He has a great sense of humor and my dad is retired after 36 years as a Lutheran minister…they will both love it!

  6. 6

    Heidi,
    Ohhhh!!! That’s so much fun to hear! Thanks for visiting my blog and letting me know how you will use the pattern.

  7. 7
    Mellie Warner Says:

    This is just what I’m looking for (without the white patches). I know how to knit a longtail cast on, but I don’t know how to do it in ribbing. Can you tell me or point me to a source of directions? Thanks

  8. 8

    Hello Mellie: Here’s a link to a video that shows the long-tail purl cast on: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cRb0ZHmixNg Combine that technique with the long tail casto on knit and there you have it! Or . . . a less complicated long-tail method is to the first loop on your needle and then hold one strand in your right hand, one in your left and knit and purl right onto the needle. (The method in the video link does that, but has combined the movements into only using one hand.)

  9. 9
    Bea Says:

    You seem to be so passionate about your talents. My dear brother has just lost all of his beautiful red hair due to chemotherapy for advanced prostrate cancer. I would like to make him a cap to cover his scalp nothing wool or itchy any suggestions?
    I am a 101 knitter.
    Thanks for your suggestions
    BC

  10. 10

    Dear BC,

    I sorry to hear that your brother is having tough times.

    Here are some links that might be helpful:

    The first link is from Head Huggers. When you get to the Head Huggers page, the knit patterns are on the left. Scroll down the page to see if there’s a cap you like. Then click the link to get a closer look, then click again to get the pattern. There are some for men, but some on female heds that would work for men. http://www.headhuggers.org/patterns/patterns.htm

    The second link I have for you is from the Knitting for Charity website. The following link goes directly to a discussion of knitting the perfect caps for chemo patients. There is a list of suggested yarns there. http://www.knittingforcharity.org/how_to_knit_the_perfect_chemo_cap.html

    The third link I have for you is from Knitting Pattern Central. This website is a repository of free knitting patterns. The following link goes directly to the patterns for hats. http://www.knittingpatterncentral.com/directory/hats.php Most of the links there have photos. Keep clicking until you find something that suits your knitting and your brother’s style.

    If you find something you like and get stuck while knitting, let me know. If I know the specific pattern, I might be able to help you through a glitch.

    I hope these few suggestions are of help to you. All the best to you and your brother.

    G.G.
    goodnightgram@yahoo.com


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

