Quilted One Patch Triangle Illusion Face Cloth© – or Carol’s Cloth©

I think I’ve been hanging around on some quilting blogs too much.  Is that possible?  Nah!  The colors, combinations and designs that quilters come up with is worth the trek to any site – if only for the photos.  I love the color!

Besides, I have a quilter friend who just retired from her long career.  She’s going to have so much more time for quilting and I must admit to being a teeny bit jealous.

So I got to wondering if I could knit something that resembled a quilt design, but do it in the Illusion/Shadow style of knitting.  Hah!  I did it, though it took a fair amount of head-scratching.  All the better for me because thinking will keep me going until I get to retire like Carol.

 

One Patch Triangle Illusion Face Cloth© or Carol’s Cloth©

I knit three face cloths for the photo.  The center cloth in the photo below shows what happens when Color A is Darker than Color B.  The more obvious triangles are the ones that point downward.  In the top and bottom cloths, Color A is lighter than Color B, so the more obvious triangles point upward.  Decide which way you want to do it.  Then pick a favorite sports team’s colors, or knit a holiday colorway . . . .

You can see that the one patch triangles disappear as the camera angle goes to ninety degrees.  The top face cloth is purple and gold for a Vikings fan I know.

If you want to try knitting the Quilted One Patch Illusion Face Cloth, click the link for the PDF file: Quilted One Patch Triangles Illusion Face Cloth.

Happy knitting!

4 Comments »

  1. I love these. Maybe I’ll do them in Hogwarts house colors.
    I’m feeling much better now, I’m totally over the cold.
    Chris’s surprise is still not finished, it turned out to be a bit of a slow knit. He is excited about it, though, and wants to watch me knit it. Every time I’ve come to his house over the past few days, he’ll look at my knitting bag and say “Is my hat in there?”. It’s adorable.
    His nephew turns 4 tomorrow, and I’m trying to find something to make him. What do four-year-old boys like? My brother is 10ish years older than me, and the only one younger than me is my little sister, so I have no experience on what younger boys like.

  2. 2

    Kitsune: I’m glad to know you are over your cold. What a great idea! Hogwart’s colors! That will look great. Speaking of Harry Potter face cloths – have you seen the Hedwig one? It’s at http://www.freshislefibers.com/freepatterns.htm Scroll down a bit. You’ll see Hermione’s scarf, some socks, a pair of mittens and then the Hedwig Illusion face cloth. My granddaughter loved it!!! I didn’t design that one, but the design is very, very clever.

    I’m afraid I’m not much help with young boys – not having raised a male child. One of my nephews was into Star Wars. He could recite the entire first movie. We used to make him stand in front of the TV and we’d listen to him just for our entertainment. My other nephew was into . . . milk.

  3. Milk? That’s… odd. My boyfriend’s nephew is OBSESSED with fire-fighters, and his favorite animal is a giraffe, so I took parts from a few different patterns to make a giraffe since I can’t find one that’s cute for free.

  4. 4

    Yes, the milk thingy was odd. We laugh about it now. He’s out of college. There were only two free giraffe patterns that I was ever able to find online. That’s when I looked about a year ago. Hope yours turns out great.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

