Sunrise Illusion Face Cloth© Knitting Pattern

I knit another cheery face cloth for Goodnight.  I spotted a hot orange skein of cotton when I went looking fo yarn and it was too bright to pass up.  I knew it would ‘tell me what it wanted to be.’  (Did you know that yarns do that?)

I charted a design for a big sunrise in the Illusion style of knitting.

Now you see it:

Now you don’t:

Right now, the cloth is sitting on my desk at work.  It’s supposed to rain here all week.  I might leave it here to cheer me up and then give it to Goodnight . . . .

Nah!  Just kidding.  I think there is enough left on both skeins to make a second one . . . for me!  ;-)

Here’s the link to the PDF file:  Sunrise Illusion Face Cloth

24 Comments »

  1. [...] Sunrise Illusion Face Cloth© Knitting Pattern « Goodnightgrams Blog. [...]

  2. 2
    middy Says:

    A “facecloth”. What a wonderful idea!!! Soft and absorbent! Thank-you!

  3. 3

    Middy: You’re welcome. Enjoy.

  4. 4
    knitsteve Says:

    Beautiful, warm design :)

  5. 5

    Thanks for taking the time to tell me you like it.

  6. 6
    Doris Says:

    Just found you thru Knitting Paradise forum. Great designs! Do you publish a newsletter?

  7. 7

    Doris: Hello! Thanks for stopping at my blog. I don’t publish a newsletter. I’m a widowed grandmother raising my granddaughter after the death of her mother (my daughter). I work a full time job, correct her math homework and go to all her activites. She’s 13 years old and has more activites than she used to. I’m afraid I wouldn’t have enough designs to put out a newsletter. I don’t even have enough time to write all the patterns for the things I knit. When I get the time to write a pattern, I upload it to share – to pay back to the knitting universe that has given me so much fun over the years. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. G.G.

  8. 8
    jonni Says:

    when i try to knit this sunrise illusion pattern, the colors are reversed. the sunrise ends up being yellow and the background is orange. i am not an experienced enough knitter to figure out how to fix this problem. i ripped the 1st one out and started over thinking maybe i had made a mistake along the way but the one i am working on now is turning out the same way.
    any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks!

  9. 9

    Hello jonni: Well – that’s no fun! Is it? I’m sorry to hear that you’ve not had good luck knitting this pattern. Let’s see. I took a look at the pattern and it looked right as I read it over. Did you switch colors right away after the first two rows? The first two rows are in the background color of yellow. And then for the remainder of the pattern, I set the rows apart in groups of four rows, but each group begins with two rows of Color B, not A. Have you switched that somehow?
    Since you said everything turns out reversed, I’m wondering if that’s where the problem lies.

    Teel you what, though, I will actully knit my own pattern again tomorrow and make sure I’ve got it right for you. I’m sorry I can’t do it sooner. (I haven’t heard from anyone else that they had a problem, but that doesn’t mean I don’t make mistakes.) When I’ve gotten far enough into the pattern tomorrow to know if I have an error, I will let you know.

    Thanks for contacting me with your question.

  10. 10

    jonni: I thought of something on my way home from work. Are you looking at the back side of the cloth? The colors are reversed on the backside of the cloth. That’s what Happens with Illusion/Shadow designs. To check it out, turn your cloth over from where you had been looking at it. Lay the cloth on a flat surface and step back to view the piece from an obtuse viewing angle (greater than 90 degrees). The image should appear. When you step closer to the work and view it from directly overhead, the design should disapppear and look like stripes of alternating colors.

    Illusion/Shadow knitting is designed that way. The back side may seem like the front side because on the return row is where there can be knits and purls together. The front is generally only knit stitches. The Illusion/Shadow image is designed by putting the bumps in the right place from the back so they show up on the front.

    Let me know if this solves your problem. If it doesn’t, I will still reknit the piece from my own pattern, but I think this might do it for you. Sorry you ripped and started again to get the same results. But I’m thinking you may have been looking at the back side.

  11. 11
    Brittany Says:

    Hi,
    I absolutely love this pattern! I haven’t actually tried to make it yet, but it seems pretty simple yet so warm and beautiful. I am thinking about selling things that I knit (my friends are getting tired of me making things for them) and I was wondering if I can have your permission to sell face cloths I make with your pattern. If you do not approve, then I promise I won’t sell them!

  12. 12

    Hello Brittany: Sure! Have fun. Thanks for contacting me. Good luck with sales, too!

  13. 13
    karen Says:

    goodnightgram I’ve had a same problem with a different pattern my came out the wrong colors. It was the Illusion christmas tree dish cloth and the pic. on the pattern the trees are green and mine were white. Been all over trying to find out why. Karen

  14. 14

    Hi Karen: The most common mistake is that a knitter looks at the back side of the cloth. The colors will be reversed on the back side.

    If you are holding the cloth up in front of you and you see the white tree on a green background, then you are looking at the wrong side. Turn the piece over, set it down on a flat surfave and step away a few feet so you are looking at it from an obtuse angle (greater than 90 degrees.) What looks like stripes on the front of an Illusion knit piece really comes to life when you step back and look at it.

    I hope this helps.

  15. 15
    karen Says:

    thank you so much I did what you said and it worked. Thank you so much I had a feeling that it was something I was doing. Thanks again. Karen

  16. 16

    Karen: How wonderful! I’m glad it worked. I know how frustrating it could be not to see what you are supposed to and then give up on a project. Thank you for letting me know it worked.

  17. 17
    ancient hippie Says:

    Dear Goodnightgram; Thanks for a great quick project I can do on the train on my way to work. I am going to try one in white and midnight blue to see if it looks like moonrise. Think it will work? Will also make one in the yellow and orange as I need something to cheer me up sometimes and I think this will do it.

  18. 18

    Dear Ancient Hippie (luv the name, BTW) I think the midnight blue and white will look like a moonrise. Great idea! Let me know how it turns out. Hope the knitting does the trick for cheering you.

  19. 19
    Sharon Says:

    Two questions – I usea screen reader – is the pattern available in word format and line by line instrucitons? Also if I can figure it out – can I have permission to sell cloths made from your patter with credit as the designer? Thanks.

  20. 20

    Sharon: I have responded offline via email and sent you the pattern as an attachment to that email. Thank you for taking the time to contact me. Good luck wiht your project.

  21. 21
    Gloria Says:

    I’m trying to download the pdf and although it shows that it is downloading on the screen, I cannot find it anywhere on my hard drive.
    Can I get you to email it to me, and may I have permission to make one or two to sell at our (me and my bff’s) craft bazaar booth?

  22. 22

    Gloria: Will contact you offline with the file. Enjoy!

  23. 23
    Rita Says:

    Hi, I have never done colors like this pattern. I’m alittle confused on how do I go from one color to the next. Say if I do one row in black & switch to another color , do I tie a knot & continue with the next color?
    Thank you Kindly!
    Rita

  24. 24

    Rita: Hello. illusion knitting is done most commonly with two colors with the color changes after every two rows. So you would work across and back with one color and then pick up the second color and use that to go across and back.

    Adding and then changing colors is not difficult. At the end of the row, drop the color just used and pick up the end of the second color. Leave a tail long enough to work in later and just start knitting by inserting your needle into the stitch to be worked and loop the new color round the needle as you would normally.

    Here is a link to an online video that shows and describes the technique: http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=ckzi_bhg2UE&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dckzi_bhg2UE

    i hope this helps. Let me know if younhave any further questions.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

