Follow the Yellow Knit Road Illusion Face Cloth©

I must admit the following knitting project was influenced by the high school class play that Goodnight and I attended on Sunday.  We went to see the Wizard of Oz musical.

As I watched, I thought, “I can knit that yellow brick road.”  So I did.  I like the Illusion style of knitting – well I like all styles of knitting, but I’ve been on a roll lately, so I charted a design to see what it would look like.  I kinda like it and have two new face cloths to show for it.

A face cloth is a small fabric, so my yellow knit road couldn’t be too long.  I guess Munchkin Land is in the middle of the cloth and you can follow your way around the six legs to make your way to . . . Oz.

Since the face cloth is done in the Illusion/Shadow style of knitting – here’s the obligatory disappearing yellow knit road photo:

Here’s a link to the PDF file for the pattern:  Follow the Yellow Knit Road Illusion Face Cloth

I’m not necessarily obsessed with stripes, but I love that images disappear with Illusion designs.

Happy Knitting!

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    Wendy Jones Says:

    I have made several of your patterns. This is such an interesting concept. Thank you for offering them. I love to try different things with every project! W. Jones

  2. 2

    Hi Wendy: Thank-you. I like to try different things, too. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment.

  3. 3
    nancy Says:

    I am knitting this and my road does not look solid like the photo does….it looks striped. What did i do wromg?

  4. 4

    Hi Nancy: Yep! The stripes are correct, but you have to set the piece down on a flat surface and then step back a bit to view the cloth from an obtuse angle. Then the yellow brick road will appear. That’s the premise of Illusion Knitting. It’s different, but fun. Let me know if you can see it when you step back.

  5. 5
    Janey Says:

    I must have missed this when you first showed it a couple of years ago … am glad that I found it! Thanks.

  6. 6

    Janey: You’re welcome!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

