Gingham Checks Illusion Face Cloth© Knitting Pattern

I have been fond of gingham checks for as long as I can remember.  My favorite has always been the lime green gingham.  My sis has been fond of the red, and my mother, the pink.  None of us were fond of the print for clothing so much as for our kitchens.

So I got to thinking about gingham and decided to try charting a design for the check print in the Illusion style of knitting.  It was such a fun project that I did it start to finish last night.

I think it’s my favorite design so far.  I really like gingham. 

And here is the cloth at a ninety-degree viewing angle.  The gingham pattern is still only made from stripes.  It’s the knit-purl combinations that affect the print.

I am knitting sets of gingham face cloths for my mom and sis for mother’s day/spring/cuz I wanna/cuz we’re close-knit.  ;-)

I am also going to chart a variation of the design and knit table runners for them as well.  When I get the design and pattern finished, I’ll upload photos and the table runner pattern.  But for now here’s the PDF file for the Gingham Checks Illusion Face Cloth©  pattern.

Gingham Checks Illusion Face Cloth

Happy Spring!  Happy Mother’s Day (early)!  Happy Knitting!

3 Comments »

  1. 1

    I love this design. It’s very simple, yet beautiful! I’m a loom knitter and would like to convert your pattern for a yahoo group class i’m teaching. I wanted to get your approval first. Just let me know. I’ll keep your copyright info intact with a translated to loom by Kelly Jones.

    Thanks,
    Kelly

  2. 2

    Hi Kelly,

    Go for it! Hope your class enjoys it.

    The face cloth was my practice piece for the table runner I knit for my mother for Mother’s Day. Still simple, just wider and longer. Here’s the link to the post where you can see photos and the PDF pattern: http://goodnightgram.wordpress.com/2010/05/10/gingham-checks-illusion-table-runner%c2%a9-knitting-pattern/ in case you want to have a look.

    But by all means, convert it for loom. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. 3

    Thank you so much, I appreciate it. I love the table runner idea too! May have to make one of those for my mom.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

